This church was established through an edict set forth by Peter Stuyvesant, in his continuing effort to turn the colonists of Nieuw Amsterdam away from what he considered their wicked ways. This building, the third on the site, continues the tradition in what is the oldest continuous church location in the city. Its seventeenth-century churchyard contains the graves of pioneering Brooklynites with names like Lefferts, Cortelyou, and Lott. The parsonage, built in 1853, is at the edge of a small Historic District that includes a row of charming cottages.
FLATBUSH REFORMED DUTCH CHURCH NEW YORK Photo Gallery